## Electoral Board Isle of Wight County Virginia 7 January 2020

The Electoral Board of Isle of Wight County held its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday 7 January 2020 at the General Registrar's Office at IOW Courthouse. The Chairman called the meeting to order at 2PM. Present were Inetha Holmes, Chairman, Regina Haggerty, Vice Chairman, William Bell, Secretary, and Lisa Betterton, Director of Elections (DE). This meeting was not held on the first Wednesday because it was a holiday.

The minutes of the 4 December meeting were approved, signed, and given to the DE for filing.

The Secretary led a discussion on how we were going to process early absentee voting. DE stated feeling is that Legislature will not seek to implement for the Democratic Primary as had been rumored but were leaning toward May municipal elections. Focus is currently on using 3 to 5 VERIS terminals with each terminal acting as a poll book so to speak. While this seems like best avenue concern was expressed about VERIS crashing leading to provisionals and extremely long lines. Has VERIS been stress tested, was also mentioned. The DE stated that the regional VRAV DE's all are focusing on VERIS and trying to work out a process in the absence of guidance from ELECT.

The DE discussed assignments of Chiefs for the March Primary. It was decided to continue the team that was at Smithfield Precinct for the Nov 2019 General Election. The Secretary so moved, seconded by Ms. Haggerty and voted unanimously.

The DE brought up the party affiliation issue giving party chairs the right to nominate persons of their party to serve as election officers. While this has been in the code for some years it has only just been brought up as an issue. It was decided that board members would get with their party chairs and develop whatever list they wanted with emphasis on those currently serving.

The DE asked for an explanation of the cost of the VEBA Annual Meeting at The Homestead. The Secretary provided same.

Old Business. None

New Business. None

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 3:15 PM

Inetha Holmes, Chairman

Regina Haggerty, Vice Chairman

William Bell, Secretary