The Unveiling

Of

Mayors Portrait Gallery: 1869 - 2021



City of Plainfield Municipal Courthouse 325 Watchung Avenue Plainfield, New Jersey 07060

> Friday, June 10, 2016 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM

Plainfield Mayors Portrait Gallery: 1869 - 2016

A meeting of the citizens of Plainfield Township was held in Laing's Hall on April 20, 1869 for the purpose of forming a city government. The next day, April 21, 1869, Plainfield was incorporated as a city by an act of the New Jersey State Legislature. The first charter election was held on May 4, 1869. With less than 5,000 citizens at the time, 644 votes were cast and Job Male (1808 – 1891) was elected the first Mayor of Plainfield. Male immigrated to the United States with his parents, at 8 years of age, from his native England in 1816.

This permanent exhibit, located in the Plainfield Courthouse, offers a visual history of Job Male and the other 36 Mayors whose political actions and contributions shaped the City of Plainfield during their respective term (s). The 37 images cover a 144 - year period (1869 – 2016), portraying a historical record of Plainfield.

On February 17, 1917, in a speech delivered at a celebratory program held in conjunction with the laying of the cornerstone for Plainfield City Hall, then Mayor Leighton Calkins said "Here will be performed the duties of the servants of the people. Let this building be a monument to the fidelity of public officials sworn to the service of this community...Better that this building should never be erected than it should be desecrated by unworthy use."

The Georgian-style building, completed in 1920, is listed on the United States National Register of Historic Places and the New Jersey Register of Historic Places.

Ethel M. Washington Curator

Job Male



John H. Evans



Dr. Charles Stillman



Dr. John C. Sutphen



Nathan Harper, Esq.



Job Male (1808 - 1891) Republican Three Non-Consecutive Terms 1869 - 1870 / 1877 - 1878 / 1887 - 1890

John H. Evans (1831 - 1889)

Anti-Bond

Single Term

1871 - 1872

Dr. Charles Stillman (1817 - 1881) Republican Single Term 1873 - 1874

Dr. John C. Sutphen (1834 - 1878) Law and Order / Citizens Ticket Single Term 1875 - 1876

Nathan Harper, Esq. (1817 - 1893) Democrat Single Term 1879 - 1880

Lewis V. Fitz Randolph



William B. Maxson



George W. Rockfellow



Alexander Gilbert



Charles J. Fisk



Lewis V. Fitz Randolph (1838 - 1921)

Republican

Single Term

1881 - 1882

William B. Maxson (1835 - 1888) People's Union

I

Single Term

1883 - 1884

George W. Rockfellow (1817 - 1893) Citizens / Republican Two Non-Consecutive Terms 1885 - 1886 / 1899 - 1900

Alexander Gilbert (1839 - 1929) Republican Three Consecutive Terms

1891 - 1892 / 1893 - 1894 / 1895 - 1896

Charles J. Fisk (1858 - 1922) Republican Three Non-Consecutive Terms 1897 - 1898 / 1907 - 1908 / 1909 - 1910

Dr. Olin Jenkins



James F. Buckle



George W. V. Moy



Percy H. Stewart

Leighton Calkins



Dr. Olin Jenkins (1851 - 1904) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1901 - 1902 / 1903 - 1904

James F. Buckle (1852 - 1928)

Republican

Single Term

1905 - 1906

George W. V. Moy (1865 - 1949) Democrat Single Term 1911 - 1912

Percy H. Stewart (1867 - 1951)

Democrat

Single Term

1913 - 1914

Leighton Calkins (1867 - 1956) Republican Three Consecutive Terms

1915 - 1916 / 1917 - 1918 / 1919 - 1920

Charles E. Loizeaux



James T. MacMurray



Martin B. Stutsman



Charles Benson Wigton



DeWitt Dukes Barlow



Charles E. Loizeaux (1889 - 1947) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1921 - 1922 / 1923 - 1924

James T. MacMurray (1894 - 1968) Republican Three Consecutive Terms 1925 - 1926 / 1927 - 1928 / 1929 - 1930

Martin B. Stutsman (1886 - 1947) Republican Two Non-Consecutive Terms 1931 - 1932 / 1935 - 1936

Charles Benson Wigton (1885 - 1961)

Republican

Single Term

1933 - 1934

DeWitt Dukes Barlow (1880 - 1945) Republican Single Term

1937 - 1938

Harvey R. Linbarger







John W. Zerega



Carlyle W. Crane



Allen D. Tompkins



Harvey R. Linbarger (1881 - 1921) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1939 - 1940 / 1941 - 1942

Dixon C. Philips (1884 - 1992) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1943 - 1944 / 1945 - 1946

John W. Zerega (1894 - 1971) Republican Single Term 1947 - 1948

Carlyle W. Crane (1914 - 1992) Republican Three Consecutive Terms

1949 - 1950 / 1951 - 1952 / 1953 - 1954

Allen D. Tompkins (1906 - 1990) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1955 - 1956 / 1957 - 1958

Richard P. Dyckman



Robert C. Maddox



George F. Hetfield



Frank F. Blatz Jr.



Paul J. O'Keeffe



Richard P. Dyckman (1896 - 1974) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1959 - 1960 / 1961 - 1962

Robert C. Maddox (1924 - 1989)

Republican

Two Consecutive Terms

1963 - 1964 / 1965 - 1966

George F. Hetfield (1908 - 2002) Republican Single Term 1967 - 1968

Frank F. Blatz Jr. (1910 - 1977)

Republican

Single Term

1969 - 1973

Paul J. O'Keeffe (1934 - 2004) Republican Two Consecutive Terms 1974 - 1977 / 1978 - 1981

Everett C. Lattimore



Richard L. Taylor



Harold D. Mitchell







Albert T. McWilliams



Everett C. Lattimore (1927 - 1991) Democrat One Partial Term 1982 - 1984

Richard L. Taylor (1944 - 2009) Democrat One Partial & One Full Term 1984 - 1985 / 1986 - 1989

Harold D. Mitchell (Born 1939) Democrat Single Term 1990 - 1993

Mark A. Fury (Born 1958) Democrat Single Term 1994 - 1997

Albert T. McWilliams (1953 - 2007) Democrat Two Consecutive Terms

1998 - 2005

Sharon Robinson-Briggs



Adrian O. Mapp



Sharon Robinson-Briggs (Born 1959) Democrat Two Consecutive Terms 2006 - 2013

> Adrian O. Mapp (Born 1956) Democrat 2014 to Present

In the Beginning



Construction of City Hall Cupola Year 1918

Paul Collier, Photographer

All Photos Courtesy of Local History Collection of the Plainfield Public Library in New Jersey

Photos of City Hall

