Local Law Filing

(Use this form to file a local law with the Secretary of State.)

Text of law should be given as amended. Do not include matter being eliminated and do not use italics or underlining to indicate new matter.

Select one:)	☐City ☐Town ☐Village	
of ORLEANS COUNTY		
Local Law N	Io. 2 - INTRO of the year 20 ²³	
A local law	AMENDING SECTION 4 OF LOCAL LAW NO. 3 OF THE YEAR 2011	
	(Insert Title) TO REAPPORTION LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS	
Be it enacte	d by the LEGISLATURE	of the
	(Name of Legislative Body)	01 110
Select one:)	□City □Town □Village	
of ORLEA	NS	as follows:

SECTION 1. TITLE:

A Local Law Amending Section 4 of Local Law No. 3 of the Year 2011 to Reapportion Legislative Districts.

SECTION 2. AUTHORITY:

This Local Law is enacted pursuant to Municipal Home Rule Law §10(1)(ii)(a)(13) which authorizes local governments to reapportion their legislative bodies in order to comply with the one person one vote standards enunciated by the United States Supreme Court.

SECTION 3. PURPOSE:

The purpose of this Local Law is to amend Section 4 of Local Law No. 3 of the Year 2011 by reapportioning the legislative districts established therein by removing that portion of the Village of Medina situate within the Town of Shelby lying east of the center line of Gwinn Street from County Legislative District 2 and adding that portion of the Village of Medina situate within the Town of Shelby lying east of the center line of Shelby lying east of the center line of Gwinn Street from County Legislative District 2 and adding that portion of the Village of Medina situate within the Town of Shelby lying east of the center line of Gwinn Street to County Legislative District 1.

Also, removing the area known as Election District #5 in the Town of Murray from County Legislative District 4 and adding that portion to County Legislative District 3.

(If additional space is needed, attach pages the same size as this sheet, and number each.)

SECTION 4. AMENDMENT OF SECTION 4:

Section 4 of Local Law No. 3 of the Year 2011 is hereby amended by replacing the provisions of Section 4 with the following provisions which shall read as follows:

A. The remaining four (4) county legislators shall be elected from four (4) separate legislative distracts as follows:

Legislative District 1 shall include that part of Orleans County being all of the Towns of Clarendon and Barre and that portion of the Town of Shelby bounded and described as follows: All of the Town of Shelby excluding the portion of the Village of Medina situated with in the said town of Shelby lying West of the center line of Gwinn Street.

Legislative District 2 shall include that part of Orleans County being all of the Towns of Yates and Ridgeway and that portion of the Town of Shelby bounded and described as follows: The portion of the Village of Medina situated with in the said town of Shelby lying West of the center line of Gwinn Street.

Legislative District 3 shall include that part of Orleans County being all of the Towns of Gaines and Albion and that portion of the Town of Murray bounded and described as follows: Beginning at the intersection of Ridge Road and the Murray/Gaines Town Line and proceeding easterly along Ridge Rd to Creek Rd, and proceeding southerly along Creek Rd to Fancher Rd, and proceeding southerly along Fancher Rd to the Clarendon/Murray town line, and proceeding westerly along the Clarendon/Murray town line to the Albion/Murray town line, and proceeding northerly along the Albion/Murray town line to the Murray/Gaines Town Line, and proceeding northerly along the Albion/Murray town line to the Murray/Gaines Town Line, and proceeding northerly along the Murray/Gaines Town Line to the point of beginning.

Legislative District 4 shall include that part of Orleans County being all of the Towns of Carlton and Kendall and that portion of the Town of Murray bounded and described as follows: Beginning at the intersection of Ridge Road and the Murray/Gaines Town Line and proceeding easterly along Ridge Rd to Creek Rd, and proceeding southerly along Creek Rd to Fancher Rd, and proceeding southerly along Fancher Rd to the Clarendon/Murray town line, and proceeding easterly along the Clarendon/Murray town line to the Murray/Monroe County Line, and proceeding northerly along the Murray/Monroe County Line to the Murray/Kendall Town Line, and proceeding southerly along the Murray/Kendall Town Line to the Murray/Gaines Town Line, and proceeding southerly along the Murray/Kendall Town Line to the Murray/Gaines Town Line, and proceeding southerly along the Murray/Kendall Town Line to the Murray/Gaines Town Line, and proceeding southerly along the Murray/Kendall Town Line to the point of beginning.

SECTION 5. LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS CONTINUED:

The four legislative districts as previously bounded and described by Section 4 of the Local Law No. 3 of the Year 2011 shall continue as such for the limited purpose of continuing in office the legislators elected from said districts through December 31, 2023 and such current legislative districts shall continue to exist through December 31, 2023. For the purpose of the general election of 2023 and all other purposes on January 1, 2024 the County of Orleans four legislative

districts are described in Section 4. Hereinabove and more particularly shown on a map entitled Orleans County Legislative Districts attached hereto and made a part hereof.

SECTION 6. EFFECT OF OTHER LAWS OR ACTS:

Any law, ordinance, resolution or other act inconsistent with the provisions hereof shall be superseded by this Local Law.

SECTION 7. SEPARABILITY:

If any clause, sentence, paragraph or section of this Local Law shall be adjudged by any Court of competent jurisdiction to be unconstitutional, illegal or invalid, such judgement shall not affect, impair or invalidate the remainder thereof, but shall be confined in its operation of the clause, sentence, or paragraph thereof directly involved in the controversy in which such judgment shall have been rendered.

SECTION 8. SUBJECT TO REFERENDUM ON PETITION:

This local law shall take effect fort-five (45) days after its adoption hereof, or after approval of the affirmative vote of a majority of the qualified voters of the County of Orleans voting on a proposition for its approval if within forty-five (45) days after its adoption there be filed with the Clerk a petition protesting against this Law is the form, signed and authenticated, as provided for in section 24 of the Municipal Home Rule Law of the State of New York.



