OKANOGAN COUNTY

Ordinance 2003-4

(as corrected)

An ordinance of the Board of the County Commissioners, Okanogan County, Washington, establishing and setting the boundaries of an Emergency Medical Service District, providing for emergency medical services within a certain unincorporated portion of Okanogan County and placing a levy therefore on the ballot, for emergency medical service throughout the Tonasket School district area.

WHEREAS, the citizens residing in Tonasket School District No. 404, are not currently adequately served by emergency medical services, and;

WHEREAS, it has been amply shown that proper medical care will save the lives of victims of heart attack, severe trauma, and many other life threatening medical emergencies, returning many to full productive lives, who would otherwise die or be permanently disabled, and;

WHEREAS, the Board of the County Commissioners, Okanogan County, Washington, has made a finding that it is in the public interest to create the district, and;

WHEREAS, the City Council of the city of Tonasket, being the only incorporated city within the Tonasket School District, has duly considered this matter, and approved the inclusion of the city of Tonasket within this proposed EMS district, at a regular meeting of the city council, and has provided the Board of County Commissioners with a certified copy of their resolution 2003-07 to be included within the EMS district, and;

WHEREAS, a public hearing was held on September 2, 2003, following proper public notice to consider this resolution, and;

WHEREAS, RCW 36.32.480 allows the County Commissioners to form an emergency medical services district within the unincorporated area of Okanogan County; NOW, THEREFORE;

<u>Section 1.</u> An Emergency Medical Service (EMS) District is established within all unincorporated areas lying within the Tonasket School District No. 404, pursuant to RCW 36.32.470 and RCW 36.32.480 for the purpose of providing emergency medical services for all residences within the proposed emergency medical service district.

<u>Section 1.1.</u> The boundaries of the EMSD shall be coextensive with the boundaries of that portion of School District No. 404 lying within the unincorporated area of Okanogan County, and shall include the incorporated city of Tonasket, by reason of the resolution 2003-07 of the city council of that city to be included in this EMS district.

Section 2. This Ordinance is necessary for the immediate preservation of health and welfare of the citizens of all incorporated areas lying within the Tonasket School District No. 404, and it is in the best interest of good government, and shall take effect immediately upon its passage.

Section 3. Okanogan County shall place upon the November ballot a property tax levy in the amount of forty cents (\$0.40) per one thousand dollars (\$1000.00) of assessed value of property in the unincorporated area lying within the Tonasket School District No. 404, and the incorporated city of Tonasket, in each year for ten (10) consecutive years for the provision of emergency medical care to be levied for both the unincorporated area within Tonasket School District No. 404, and the area within the city of Tonasket, for collection in 2005, and subsequent years through 2014.

Section 4. The Ballot title referred to herein shall read as follows:

Shall Okanogan County be allowed to impose an additional property tax in an amount of forty cents (\$0.40) per One Thousand Dollars (\$1000.00) of assessed value of property in the unincorporated areas and city of Tonasket, within the Tonasket Emergency Medical Service (EMS) District, which is coextensive with the boundaries of School District No. 404, in each year for ten (10) consecutive years, for the provision of Emergency Medical Services, to be levied for the EMS district in 2004, for collection in 2005, and subsequent years through 2014?

Adopted by the Board of County Commissioners of Okanogan County, Washington as a regular open public meeting, held this 10 day of September, 2003.

RESOLUTION APPROVED AS TO FORM

BALLOT TITLE APPROVED

Heidi Appel 10 11 Arosecutor

Brenda Crowell of the Board

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OKANOGAN, WASHINGTON

Craig Veraska, Chairman

Dave Schulz, Member

Mary Lou Peterson, Member