

Martin County Board of Elections

Martin County Governmental Center 305 East Main Street, Room 120 - PO Box 801 Williamston, NC 27892

Phone: 252-789-4317 Fax: 252-789-4319 Email: vote@martincountyncgov.com Website: www.martincountyncgov.com/election

PRESS RELEASE

May 8, 2019

Filing for 2019 Nonpartisan Municipal Elections

The Martin County Board of Elections will conduct non-partisan municipal elections on Tuesday - November 5, 2019. Candidates seeking election to non-partisan municipal offices may file a Notice of Candidacy at the office of the Martin County Board of Elections.

Start of filing period – 12:00 noon, Friday - July 5, 2019 Close of filing period – 12:00 noon, Friday - July 19, 2019

To be accepted, all Notices of Candidacy, together with the proper filing fee, must be in the possession of the Martin County Board of Elections by 12:00 noon on Friday - July 19, 2019.

General Candidacy Requirements

- A registered voter qualified to vote in an election for the office sought
- At least 21 years of age as of the date of the general election
- Not serving an active felony sentence, including any period of probation or parole

Municipal candidates will be elected as follows:

- > Everetts (two-year term)
 - 1 Mayor
 - 3 Commissioners
- **▶ Hamilton** (two-year term)
 - 1 Mayor
 - 5 Commissioners
- ➤ **Hassell** (two-year term)
 - 1 Mayor
 - 5 Commissioners

- > Oak City (two-year term)
 - 1 Mayor
 - 5 Commissioners
- **▶ Parmele** (four-year term)
 - 1 Mayor
 - 5 Commissioners
- > **Robersonville** (four-year term)
 - 1 Mayor The Mayor shall be elected by all the voters of the town.
 - 5 Members of Council There are two districts, each of which shall elect two Members of Council. Only persons residing in a district shall be eligible to be candidates for the two seats representing that district. Only the voters residing in a district may vote for the two Members of Council elected from that district. All voters of the town may vote for the at-large Member of Council, and any qualified resident of the town may be a candidate for that seat.
- **➤ Williamston** (four-year term)
 - 1 Mayor The Mayor shall be elected by all the voters of the town.
 - 5 Commissioners There are two districts, each of which shall elect two Commissioners. Only persons residing in a district shall be eligible to be candidates for the two seats representing that district. Only the voters residing in a district may vote for the two Commissioners elected from that district. All voters of the town may vote for the at-large Commissioner, and any qualified resident of the town may be a candidate for that seat.

Please note: Nonpartisan municipal elections for the Town of Bear Grass and the Town of Jamesville will not be held on November 5, 2019. The Mayor and Commissioners of those towns serve four-year terms (2017 - 2021).

Voter registration closes at 5:00 PM on Friday - October 11, 2019, for the 2019 nonpartisan municipal elections. The Elections Office is open Monday through Friday (8:00 AM - 12:00 Noon and 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM). If you have any questions concerning filing or voter registration, please call the Elections Office at 252-789-4317.

Martin County Board of Elections

William E. Newsome – Chair Donald G. Torrence, Jr. – Member Theresa R. Sharpe – Member Ira Derek Price – Member Gloria Jean Spruell-Boyd – Member